What’s minimum wage in California? The minimum wage in California is $14 per hour. This is the State-wide minimum wage for firms with 26 or more employees, it is increased on 1 January 2021.
Although there are certain exceptions, most all California employees have to receive a state minimum wage. The minimum wage will be increased annually for all industries by 1 January 2017. The minimum wage for firms employing 26 or more employees shall increase from 1 January 2017 to 1 January 2022. This increment will be extended from 1 January 2018 to 1 January 2023 for firms employing 25 or fewer staff. Based on specific findings, the Governor may temporarily stop the planned increases.
Some employees, including external salespeople, parents, spouses or children from employers, and trainees who are frequently engaged under the State Learning Standards Division, are excluded from minimum wage regulation. There is an exemption to this apprenticeship for learners, regardless of their age, whose first 160 hours in occupations without previous similar or comparable experience, may be paid at least 85% of the minimum wage that is approximated to their nearest nickel.
Some employees, like outside salespersons, persons who are the employer’s father, spouse, or children, and apprentices, who are frequently engaged in the apprenticeship standards division are exempt from the minimum wage law. An exception is made for learners, regardless of their age, whose first 160 hours of employment in occupations where they have no similar or comparable prior experience may be paid not lower than 85 percent of the minimum wage for nickel round the closest nickel.
A new year will entail changes to the minimum wage legislation in California. The following changes to State and municipal minimal wage rules, which will become effective on 1 January 2021, should be taken into consideration for companies in California that will affect both non-exempt and exempt employees. The State-wide minimum wage for firms with 26 or more employees, and $13 for firms with 25or fewer employees, will be increased by 1 January 2021 to $14 per hour. However, as explained below, some municipal laws have greater minimum wages than State law and some local laws do away with all minimum pay differentiation based on the size of their firm.
California is one step closer to its $15 per hour minimum wage goal after recent raise. The California legislation has been passed in 2016, which establishes a progressive increase in minimum wages up to 2023, and California’s minimum wage will remain at a national level till $15.00 an hour each year. California passed a law that raises the minimum wage for all non-exempt employees annually to a minimum of $15.00 per hour. You have the right to a statutory minimum wage even if you consent to work for less than the minimum payment. It is not possible to implement your agreement with less effort.
Unfortunately, for firms with 26 or more employees, and firms with 25 or fewer employees, California’s $15.00 minimum wage does not come into force until January 2022. The minimum wage increases every year till then. The following is a chart showing the previous several years of California minimum wages:
|DATE||MORE THAN 25 EMPLOYEES||25 or FEWER EMPLOYEES|
|January 1, 2017||$10.50||$10.00|
|January 1, 2018||$11.00||$10.50|
|January 1, 2019||$12.00||$11.00|
|January 1, 2020||$13.00||$12.00|
|January 1, 2021||$14.00||$13.00|
|January 1, 2022||$15.00||$14.00|
|January 1, 2023||$15.00||$15.00|
The current minimum wage is $8.25 per hour in 29 states and D.C. Currently. Five States did not have a national minimum wage: Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, South Carolina, and Tennessee. The minimum wage is below $7.25 per hour in two states, Georgia and Wyoming. The federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour applies to all seven of these countries.
- Twenty-one countries started to raise the minimum wage in 2020. Seven states (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Montana, Ohio, South Dakota, and Vermont) have automatically increased their rates by living costs, while fourteen states (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachote, Michigan, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, and Washington).
- The voters of Florida have agreed to Amendment 2, to raise the minimum state salary to 15 dollars per hour by 2026. With effect from September 2021, the change boosts to $10.00 per hour the minimum wage and continued yearly increase to $15.00 per Hour.
- The new year begins with 18 states with increasing minimum salaries. Their rates are automatically increased by eight countries (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio, South Dakota, and Vermont), while 10 states (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Missouri, New York, Rhode Island, and Washington) increase by previously approved legislation or voting projects. D.C., Delaware, Michigan, and Oregon are some countries that will see rate increases in the 2019 calendar year.
- AB 15 was introduced by New Jersey in February, gradually raising the minimum salary to $15 by 2024. (For the same period, the minimum wage will be increased to $9.87 for tipped employees.) For some seasonal workers and employees from small firms, the schedule for the annual rise was delayed, and for some individuals, the minimum wage of 90% of the training pay was established for their first 120 hours of work.
- In February, Illinois issued SB 1, whose phase will be raised to $15 by 2025 in a minimum wage. It also lowered youth wages for employees under 18 and established a tax credit program to compensate for increased labor costs for smaller employees (this would eventually climb to US $13 by 2025), therefore reducing youth pay.
- Maryland’s legislature has overruled a government veto to approve a measure (SB 280) phasing up a minimum wage to $15 by 2024 and to eliminate the subminimum pay for employees under 20. By 2024 (with a delayed timetable of rate rises for smaller employees).
- In April, New Mexico issued SB 437, raising by 2023 the minimum wage of the State to $12. The policy also included a high-school education salary, and the inclined minimum pay was significantly increased.
- In May, Connecticut issued HB 5004 which by 2023 will increase the national minimum salary to $15. The measure also linked the minimum wage to the index of labor costs.
- In June, Nevada approved AB 456, which increased over several years as a minimum wage. By 1 July 2024, employers that provide their employees with health benefits and firms that offer no health benefits would get a minimum pay of 11.00$.
- The new year begins with 18 states with increasing minimum salaries. Eight states (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio, and South Dakota) automatically have increasing rates of living based on costs, and eleven states (Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington).
- The State Minimum Wage increased to $15 over five years (HB 4640) by Massachusetts. Over the same period, the inclined salary would increase to $6.75 from $3.75.
- SB 170 was adopted by Delaware, which phases increase in a two-step process. As of 1 January 2019, the rate is increasing from $8.25 to $8,75, as revised by HB 483, and will again climb to $9.25 as of 1 October 2019.
- Voters in Arkansas and Missouri have adopted electoral measures that have gradually been increased to $11 and $12 an hour.
- Sub 1171, which raises the yearly minimum wage to $12.05 in 2030, was approved by the Michigan legislature.
- The higher minimum wages began in nineteen countries in 2017. She has automatically increased her rates by five States (Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Maine, Washington) through previously voted elections and seven countries (California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michi, New York, and Vermont) by the same amount. (Arizona, Florida, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio, and South Dakota) She has increased her rate automatically on a cost of living by five States On July 1st, 2017, Washington D.C., Maryland, and Oregon, according to previously adopted laws, increased their respective minimum wages.
- In legislative sessions in 2017, Rhode Island was the only state to adopt a minimum wage rise.
- Voters in Arizona, Colorado, Maine, and Washington approved voting proposals aimed at raising their respective minimum salaries in November. Increased Arizona, Colorado, and Maine wages will be increased to $12 per hour by 2020. The rate will gradually rise to $13.50 per hour by 2020 in Washington.
- The second country to pass a new law in New York City that would raise the minimum wage to 5 dollars an hour by the end of 2018 was New York. Washington D.C. has enacted the ordinance by July 1, 2020, to raises the district’s minimum wage to 15 dollars per hour.
- Governor Jerry Brown of California signed a bill on SB 3 on 4 April. The new Act elevates firms with 26 or more staff to the minimum wage of $15 per hour by 1 January 2022. The minimum wage will be $15 per hour for the employer of 25 or fewer employees by 1 January 2023. If certain economic or fiscal conditions exist, increases may be stopped by the governor. The minimum wage is linked to inflation every year, starting on 1 January, after the minimum wage hits $15 an hour for smaller firms.
- The Virgin Islands Governor Kenneth Mapp signed Act 7856 on March 23, 2017, and 2018 with a minimum wage set of $8.35 with planned annual increments of $10.50.
- The Governor of Oregon, SB 1532 was signed into law by Kate Brun on March 2. The report sets out several yearly minimum wage increases between 1 July 2016 and 1 July 2022. The minimum rate of pay is linked to inflation based on the Consumer Price Index from 1 July 2023 onward.
- The new year starts with 14 states, and the minimum wages are greater. Of them, 12 countries increased their rates by-laws approved during 2014 or 2015 sessions, and, based on the cost of living, two states increased automatically their rates.
- Eights have not increased their low pay rates for 2016 out of the 11 Member States that currently have a tie to the cost of living. It increased by 8 cents in Colorado and allowed a five-cent increase in South Dakota each hour. Increases are to be made in Nevada in July.
- Further hikes are planned for 2016 in Maryland, Minnesota, and D.C. In July, Nevada announces whether or not its indexed minimum wage will boost living costs.
In addition to the national minimum wage hike in California, numerous towns and counties have also adopted their minimum wage regulations which surpass government regulations. If employees have a more generous local minimum pay rate than the state minimum pay rate, companies must adhere to the local law. The following diagrams show changes to local minimum wage rates in California effective on 1 January 2021.
|Jurisdiction||Rates of Minimum Wage|
|Alameda||$15 per hour|
|Berkeley||$16.07 per hour|
|Emeryville||$ 16.84 per hour|
|Fremont||$ 15 per hour (More than 26 employees) $13.50 per hour (1-25 employees)|
|Los Angeles||$15 per hour (More than 26 employees) $14.25 per hour (1-25 employees)|
|Malibu||$15 per hour (More than 26 employees) $14.25 per hour (1-25 employees)|
|Milpitas||$15.40 per hour|
|Novato||$15.24 per hour (More than 100 employees) $15 per hour (26-99 employees) $14 per hour (1-25 employees)|
|Pasadena||$15 per hour|
|San Francisco||$16.32 per hour|
|South San Francisco||$15.24 per hour|
|San Leandro||$15 per hour|
|Santa Monica||$15 per hour (More than 26 employees) $14.25 per hour (1-25 employees)|
|Santa Rosa||$15.20 per hour|
California mandates that persons qualify as exempt employees:
- More than 50 percent of your working hours, you undertake exempt duties.
- Exempt managers, administrative, and employees earn a minimum wage for full-time employment not less than twice the state minimum wage. The current minimum wage is the following: (minimum wage x 2) X 2,080 hours. The minimum yearly wage is computed as follows.
The minimal threshold for these exemptions is the following effective 1 January 2021:
- For employers with 26 or more staff $58,240 annually (or $1,120 weekly).
- For employers of 25 or fewer employees, $54,080 per year (or $1,040 per week).
The rising minimum wage in California will also have an impact on salesmen commissioned inside. By California law, commissioned salesmen are free from overtime by the government if the employee receives the government minimum wage more than 1.5 times and more than half of the salary of the employee constitutes commission income. Therefore, commissioned salespersons must make more than $21 an hour (26 employees or more) or $19.50 an hour to remain exempted (1-25 employees).
The first January in California will be another minimum wage rise as numerous corporate and labor legislation will be implemented in the Golden State by 2021. The minimum wage increases by $14 per hour to $15 per hour for all employees in 2023, under another current legislation. Employers employing 25 or fewer people must pay $13 an hour at least. Since 1 January 2017, California has increased the state’s minimum salary annually in all industries and, despite coronavirus pandemic recession, next year will be no exception.
While the governor had the right to postpone the planned growth temporarily, Gov. Gavin Newsom said that it would affect many staff in the pandemic front line earlier this year. “While we work to slow the COVID-19 spread, we also must guarantee that all Californians benefit from its expansion as our economy improves,” Newsom stated in his July statement. ‘It will only be difficult for those Californians who have already suffered a disproportionate part of the economic suffering caused by this pandemic to live on if this increase does not continue.’
The new year will also be followed by other business and employment laws. Companies in California must have a racial or sexual minority of at least one Board Director by the end of 2021. By 2022 two of these managers had a lower role and three had a board of directors with nine or more managers. The first condition for female members of the board follows a similar California. Companies with a minimum of 100 employees should disclose state statistics in different categories of work, race, ethnicity, and gender, which might allow the state to discover pay gaps.
As the minimum wage is payable for each hour of work in California, your employer is unable to establish whether you make the necessary minimum wage in an average of your hourly income. If you receive a “premium” or “shift differential,” the employer nevertheless pays the minimum wage for all other worked hours (even the hours where you are not paid a premium). You also have the right to your employer’s minimum wage if you pay tips.
Also, if you receive less than a minimal rate per hour worked, your employer can “round” your work time. That implies that if you’re just a few minutes late, your employer cannot dock your salary by 15 minutes. If “rounding” is illegal you can find out more. The staff of the piece rate and most commissioned salesmen have the right for every working hour to the minimum wage. These personnel must be paid independently, including rest breaks, for their “non-productive time.” Whether you are there for “non-productive time” is a matter of fact, and if this issue applies to you should talk to a lawyer.
You have a right to the unpaid wage and penalty of the same amount when the company pays you below the minimum wage. That is, the sum of underpaid wages and legal fees used to try and obtain wages can be recovered by up to twice. Your employer cannot also retaliate for the right to the minimum wage being exercised against you. This implies they are unable to threaten you for exercising your right to a minimum wage, including the minimum wage, to ask for the minimum wage to be paid or to protest about other illegal pay practices. They are also unable to threaten to discriminate against you.
Some employees, including employees, outside salespersons, independent contractors, and certain other hourly employees, are not obligated to receive the minimum wage for each hour worked. The “app-based” transport and delivery workers following the passing of Proposition 22 in 2020 are one of the largest categories of workers not protected by minimum wage legislation. These staffs are now defined as independent contractors under Proposition 22 to whom minimum wage legislation does not apply.
No. The employer’s minimum salary is a responsibility and cannot, including collective bargaining contracts, be waived by agreements. Any corrective law designed for employee protection cannot be reached by an agreement between the employer and the employee.
Yes. When it comes to payment of the minimum wage, there is no discrimination between adults and minors.
3. As a waitress, I work in a restaurant. Can my employer use my tips to pay me the minimum wage as a credit?
No. An employer may not use the tips of an employee to pay the minimum wages as a credit.
The Labor Commissioner’s Office may either file a wage claim with the Labor Standards Enforcement Division or bring your employer to justice for recovery of lost pay. In addition, you may claim the waiting time penalty under Labor Code Section 203 when you are no longer working for that company.
California’s current minimum wage is $14 per hour, it is the least that can legally be paid in hourly labor by the non-exempt California employee. Certain workers may apply special minimum pay rates such as the “minimum wage for California waitress” for tipped staff.
A full-time California minimum wage worker works 40 times a week and 52 weeks annually to make 104 dollars a week, 520 dollars a week, and 27 040.00 dollars annually1. For a family unit of two people, the national poverty level is 16,020 dollars per year.
For the first 90 days of work, companies in California may pay a minimal youth salary of $4.25. In California, there may be other labor law exemptions for minors.
By 1 January 2023, California and Massachusetts are set to boost their minimum salaries to $15,00 per hour, and 2025 for Illinois. By January 1, 2020, Colorado’s minimum wage increased from $9.30 an hour to $12 an hour.
Georgia ($5.15) and Wyoming ($5.15) are the two lowest minimum wage states. The minimal federal minimum wage still needs to be paid by Georgian and Wyoming firms subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act.
Out of the $15 per hour minimum wage except for Washington, D.C., California has the $14 per hour highest wage in the country. With $13.69 an hour and $13.50 an hour, Washington and Massachusetts are close behind.
Employers should ensure that national and local minimum wage legislation is complied with. Where a local minimum pay rate goes above the national minimum wage rate, employers shall meet the local pay rate. Employers should assess exempt employees’ compensation to ensure that the applicable threshold for pay is met. If the salary level is not met, the employer should consider increasing pay to satisfy the salary level or reclassifying the employee as non-exempt.