How To Attract Mallard Duck?

Do you want to learn how I attracted mallards to my backyard? Let me show you. I’ve been feeding birds in my Topeka Kansas yard for 20 years. And last year was the first time I had a mallard come to my yard in the winter. And I only had one.

You see, Mallard ducks are not your typical winter backyard feeder bird. They spend a lot of time on bodies of water. There is a lake about a quarter mile from my house where they do congregate. You can also call the ducks by various cute duck names.

Winter Season

In winter, they often go to corn fields to feed. Suburban yards surrounded by houses and tall trees with no body of water are not their typical habitat. But in the winter of 2019 we had a fair amount of snow and I believe the wild mallards were having difficulty finding food.

One day I saw a handful of mallards eating the cracked corn that I scattered on the ground for the native sparrows. I told a friend about the ducks and he suggested putting out whole corn for the mallards.

He said with all the fields covered in snow, the mallards would be looking for a source of corn. He had whole corn and brought me a couple of bushels of it. I was so excited to see if his suggestion would work. To prepare a place to feed, I cleared snow from a flat area of my yard and put out gallons of corn. The mallards circled the yard but only a few would land. And those that did land would not eat the corn that was near the house.