One Time Secret

What Is One-Time Secret?

A person named ‘Delano’ once created a website named “One Time Secret”. It was built as a way to share sensitive information that’s both simple and secure. Originally, the idea was to share passwords but since launching the service in 2012 we’ve heard from people all over the world who use it in ways we never imagined. We help people share over 50,000 secrets a month. All of the code is open-source and available on Github.

Why Would You Use It?

When you send people sensitive info like passwords and private links via email or chat, there are copies of that information stored in many places. If you use a one-time link instead, the information persists for a single viewing which means it can’t be read by someone else later. This allows you to send sensitive information in a safe way knowing it’s seen by one person only. Think of it like a self-destructing message.

Sign-Up Process

The sign-up process is free. Just enter your email address and password and get started. If you already have an account enter your email and password and hit the sign-in button.
When you sign up, you get:

  • secrets that live up to 14 days.

  • To send secret links via email.

  • Access to the API.

Why People Love One-Time Secret?

OneTimeSecret is a wonderful tool that we recently discovered at Alt Creative. Have you ever needed to send a password or other personal data, but you don’t want to put it in an email? That’s the brilliance of OneTimeSecret. You just visit the site, type in your secret, and the site generates an encrypted URL. You can then send that URL via email or instant message. Once the secret has been viewed, it’s deleted.

Appearance

As soon as you open the website, you get to see an amazing user-interface. The website is designed to provide users the convenience and easiness. It is user friendly. You see a box where you can paste a secret message, password, or a private link. You can see a paraphrase option; paraphrase is a word that you need to choose as a password that is difficult to guess in order to ensure safety. There is another option of a lifetime; A lifetime is a time duration that describes how long do you want to keep the password. You can choose from 7 days, 3 days, 1 day, 4 hours, 1 hour, 12 hours, etc. Then you can click on either “Create a secret link” or generate a random password.
A secret link only works once and then disappears forever.

What Are The Alternatives To One-Time Secret?

The alternatives to one-time secret are:

  1. Privnote

  2. Revealit

  3. PasswordPusher

  4. Brieflink

  5. Smart-Secret

One-Time Secret Notes

A secure way to keep your sensitive information saved for future use.

One-time secret notes is a free tool that is used for sharing sensitive information securely. When you send someone sensitive information like passwords, bank account details, or credit card information via email, there are copies of that information stored in the recipient’s database however, it can be misused if the system gets hacked. To avoid such kind of mishap, people use one-time secret notes so that their information remains safe and can’t be read by others.

If you want to read a note, you need to enter your access token and passphrase that is given to you when you register. A note can be read only once, the system deletes it once it is read and this action can’t be undone,

Conclusion

The One-Time secret is a platform used for saving your secrets so that they don’t get misused. Whenever you send sensitive information to someone, it is stored in the receiver’s system and can be misused when the system gets hacked. In order to get rid of all this, a one-time password is used that keeps your private information safe and it can’t be stolen.

Frequently Asked Questions (F.A.Q's)

Q. Why would I use this?

A. When you send people passwords and private links via email or chat, there are copies of that information stored in many places. If you use a one-time link instead, the information persists for a single viewing which means it can’t be read by someone else later. This allows you to send sensitive information in a safe way knowing it’s seen by one person only. Think of it like a self-destructing message.

Q. Why can't I send pictures or other kinds of files?

A. The challenge with sending files, images in particular, is that there’s no way to absolutely guarantee it wasn’t copied or shared with other people. In order to ensure that no one’s private information is unknowingly shared, we decided to err on the side of simplicity.

Q. But I can copy the secret text. What's the difference?

A. True but all you have is text. With images and other file types, they can contain metadata and other potentially revealing information about who the sender or recipient. Again, this is simply to ensure that no private information is shared outside of the intended recipient.

Q. Can I retrieve a secret that has already been shared?

A. Nope. We display it once and then delete it. After that, it’s gone forever.

Q. How long do you keep non-viewed secrets?

A. We keep secrets for up to 7 days for anonymous users and up to 14 days for free accounts. After that, they are deleted automatically and gone forever. (Note: by the time you read a secret, it’s already deleted from our servers.)

Q. What is the maximum message size?

A. The maximum size is 100KB for anonymous users, 100KB for free accounts, and more for paid.

Q. Why should I trust you?

A. General we can’t do anything with your information even if we wanted to (which we don’t). If it’s a password, for example, we don’t know the username or even the application that the credentials are for.

If you include a passphrase (available under “Privacy Options”), we use it to encrypt the secret. We don’t store the passphrase (only a bcrypted hash) so we can never know what the secret is because we can’t decrypt it.

Besides all that, the code is open-source so you can review the code and/or run your own instance.

Q. Why OneTimeSecret?

A. When you send people passwords and private links via email or chat, there are copies of that information stored in many places. If you use a one-time link instead, the information persists for a single viewing which means it can’t be read by someone else later. This allows you to send sensitive information in a safe way knowing it’s seen by one person only. Think of it like a self-destructing message.

Q. Can I retrieve a secret that has already been shared?

A. Nope. We display it once and then delete it. After that, it’s gone forever.

Q. How long do you keep non-viewed secrets?

A. We keep secrets for up to 2 days. After they are viewed they are deleted immediately and gone forever.

Q. What if a search engine crawled my secret link before I could?

A. We block benevolent crawlers with our robots.txt file and we take further measures to stop.